History of the Province

The Province of Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire and Hertfordshire was constituted on Thursday, 8 March 1990 at the Masonic Hall, Rosewalk, Radlett, Herts. The Meeting commenced at 12.30 p.m.

The Ceremony was carried out by the then Grand Supreme Ruler, M.Wy.Bro. Lt. Col. John Walter Chitty MBE, assisted by Officers of Grand Conclave.

Prior to the creation of the new province, the Alma Mater, Ravenscroft, Cloisters and Lygetun Conclaves, together with two other Conclaves, were under the aegis of the Province of Norfolk, Cambridgeshire and Hertfordshire, for which the Provincial Grand Supreme Ruler was R.Wy.Bro. Rev. Ronald Thompson DFC.

The first Provincial Grand Supreme Ruler of the new Province was R.Wy.Bro. Prof. Ian Douglas Morton.

Since then he has been succeeded by:

R.Wy.Bro. District Judge Seymour Martin Samuels from 1995 to 2005
R.Wy.Bro. C. Keith Huddlestone from 2005 to 2015
R.Wy.Bro. Howard Saul Markham from 2015 to date